Crickets and Beating Hearts

2 09 2009

It’s almost here. My favorite time of the year when I was a child….the start of school. I’ll admit that I’m one of those freaks who actually really loves school. I consider myself a lifelong learner (can you tell I’m in the education software business?).

I enjoyed college. I enjoyed it so much that I kept going and going, until the bills just go to be too much. While I didn’t enjoy the social aspects of my K-12 years, I did enjoy the academic side. Every year around this time I start to get excited and wistful, especially when the weather turns, as it did this week. The air has the smell and bite of autumn, and I know that kids will soon be starting new classes, hopefully in a new grade. They get a fresh start, a fresh chance to excel, to make new friends, to discover a new favorite subject, to read new books.

Just thinking about it I start to get butterflies in the pit of my stomach, to feel the same way I used to feel when I was a child, lying awake on the night before the first day of school with the windows open, listening to the crickets chirping to the rhythm of my beating heart.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

