The Duggars, Punctuality, and Salad-e Olivieh

3 09 2009

I have a Duggar obsession. I’ll admit it. When I see that the show is on, I have to watch it. Mostly because the dad’s name is Jim Bob. I can hardly believe that. I’ll watch any show with a guy named Jim Bob in it. Also, one of the kids is the most extreme opposite of camera shy, and he is always delivering these really ludicrous monologues. The show really is better than a train wreck.

Before I continue on about the Duggars, Roger would like me to let everyone know that we watched just about every episode of the show during the middle of the night feedings in Azita’s first few months of life.

Anyways, I only bring up the Duggars because I also have a very large family. I should actually say, I have a very large extended family. My mom and dad each have about 10 or 11 siblings, I think. I say “I think” because I’m not really sure what the actual number is. Why I’m not sure is another story for another post. For now, just know that there are a lot of people out there whom I can call aunt, uncle or cousin. But there are only a few that I can call my favorites.

Now, I’ll be honest. All of the above is completely unrelated to the story I actually wanted to tell.

My favorite aunt is probably one of the most precise people I know. When she makes Salad-e Olivieh, she uses a ruler to make sure she cuts all of her potatoes to be exactly the same size. If she says lunch is at 1pm, you better freakin be at her house at 1pm or else her rice is ruined. I love that woman. She is practically a second mom to me, and I want to be as exact as she is at everything she does. Like me, she is also a very punctual person.

A couple months ago, she finally took me up on my open invite for her to visit us. She sent me an email that went something like this: “Joojoo, On Saturday, your uncle and I would like to visit you at 1pm for 1hour.”

That Saturday at exactly 1:01pm, my aunt and uncle arrived. We drank tea, ate some almonds and some fresh fruit. And, exactly 1 hour later, at 2:01 pm, my aunt and uncle took their leave.

That’s precision, folks. I want to be just like her when I grow up. And, that’s all I have to say about that.

Actions

Information

One response

3 09 2009
Persian Kitchen

I will never achieve precision. EVER! And I gave up on my veggies and the dream that they would be precisely the same size. With that said, there is a part of me that wishes that she was a perfectionist like that…shhh don’t tell anyone!

19th child on the way…I don’t even know what to say about that…

Leave a Reply

