Vegetarian Deliciousness to Come

21 09 2009

I’ve received lots of intriguing requests for vegetarian versions of different meat-based foods. One recipe — chili — has been tackled already. Hope you find time to try it out. While it seems like a lot of ingredients, I’d like to think that many of them are already in your pantry, and don’t be fooled by the length of the post. My chili is actually a very fast dish to prepare. You really do all the work up front, and that only takes 20 minutes. I timed it.

Anyways, your requests will not go unanswered. The test kitchen is now open, and I plan on coming up with recipes for the following in the next couple months:

  1. Chuck Roast with Potatoes and Carrots: Note that there is no real way without an industrial food laboratory for me to make a big hunk of meat. However, I believe I can replicate some of the flavor and texture of this dish with some vegetable protein and lots of wholesome veggies and flavorful  spices.
  2. Khoresht-e Fesenjan: I had one request for a vegetarian version of a Persian dish from My Persian Kitchen. One of my favorites is Khoresht-e Fesenjan, a delicious dish that is made of ground walnuts, pomegranate syrup, and chicken (or some other type of poultry). I usually make this at home just substituting cut up Quorn cutlets for the chicken, and it tastes delicious and satisfying. However, I’m going to try to do this dish without the meat substitute. We’ll see what the test kitchen turns out. I’ll say that Khoresht-e Bademjan ties with Fesenjan as my favorite, so you’ll probably see that sometime soon as well.
  3. Red Snapper Chowder: I’m really intrigued by this request, because it’s hard to make vegetarian equivalents of seafood dishes. There aren’t that many options out there. However,  seaweed is food from the sea and therefore I will attempt to impart some sea flavors using a seaweed based broth. I’m excited to come up with something for this one, as it really is quite the challenge. Thanks for the suggestion, Michelle!
Actions

Information

2 responses

21 09 2009
Cara

Interesting challenge you have set for yourself! I’ll look forward to seeing your responses.

24 09 2009
Salma

Hey Zahra,

I’m actually really excited for your vegetarian Fesenjun findings. I think Fesenjun would be the one dish that would tempt me to break my vegetarian streak, but maybe with your recipe that won’t even be an issue. Anyways, just thought I’d share.

-Salma

Leave a Reply

