Delayed Nesting?

22 09 2009

I have to say that I am not a big fan of cleaning. There are some parts that I like, namely vacuuming and bleaching bathroom surfaces until they are completely devoid of germs and any color (I like a sterile, white bathroom. Wonder what Freud would say about that?). Mostly though, I generally postpone housework as long as possible in the hopes that someone else (read “Roger”) will take care of it. When I was pregnant, I kept waiting for that nesting phase to kick in, and it never did. Not with respects to our home, at least. It kind of did with my job — I spent the entire night before my last-minute c-section clearing out my work inbox, responding to all messages, and setting up auto-responses for anything that could possibly automatically respond to people. In the past couple weeks, however, almost 9 months after I gave birth I appear to have finally started nesting. I am suddenly consumed with cleaning and organizing. I am obsessed. Wasn’t this supposed to happen when I was actually still pregnant? Yet another sign that I really am not quite right in the head.

Actions

Information

2 responses

23 09 2009
Cara

I have just convinced Neil that we need a cleaning service again. Which seems pretty lame since I am home, but, MAN, do I hate cleaning. Hate. It. And since Neil likes a clean house but is also reticent to pick up a broom himself, we have to figure something out.

Plus, then I’ll have more blogging time. See? Win/win.

PS – I never got that nesting instinct either. It probably didn’t help that I never worked less than 60 hours a week throughout my pregnancy.

1 10 2009
JimmyBean

I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

