5 O’Clock at the Oasis

23 10 2009

I’ve never been much of a sleeping-in type, but I do like to get an extra hour of sleep in the mornings whenever I can. If I’m really feeling lazy, I might even sleep until 8:30am on the weekends. Decadent, I know. Try not to judge.

Until recently, this has been fine with Azita. She didn’t seem to be much of a morning person. I mean once she wakes up, she wakes up with a bang. There’s usually a shriek and some wall-climbing involved, and occasionally there’s some rolling around and attempts at hurling herself off the bed. It’s just that getting to that point used to take a little while and lots of grumbling. She still hates that moment when the lights go on after we wake up. This morning, she sat straight up, squinted her eyes at the light, let out a somewhat screechy whine, and bent over so her face was buried in the mattress. Two seconds later she was lounging on her baba’s lap batting her eyelashes at me from across the room.

Really, she can go from whiny to adorable in 2 seconds flat. But I digress. The point of all this is that Azita likes to sleep in a little usually, and we’ve been pretty happy about that. But this week she’s taken to starting the wake-up process at 5am. She kicks a little. Moves her head from side to side. Flops her body around. About half an hour later, she’s up and at it with her antics which, while cute, are frustratingly annoying when even the sun hasn’t woken up from it’s nightly slumber.

Now for the past 4 or 5 months, basically ever since she started letting anyone else other than me hold her for more than a few minutes, I’ve been taking an hour a day for myself to work out. Roger is so kind as to amuse Azita for that hour, and I do the same for him when I’m done. This time really is necessary, not just for our physical health but also for our mental well-being. And, it’s the only way we’re both going to finish melting away the baby poundage, which is also a necessity since we’re both vain (and it’s healthy and stuff). The issue is that 1) by the time we pick Azita up from daycare I’m so starved for some time with my baby that it takes some serious effort to pry myself away from her for that hour, and 2) by the time we both finish working out, feeding Azita, giving her a bath and so on, it’s about 9pm. And, we’re not really liking the eating of dinner at 9pm.

So, for months now I keep saying that I’m going to get back to my former, pre-baby habit of waking up at 5:30 in the morning to workout. Thus far it hasn’t happened. Until this week that is. It seems Azita has my best interests at heart, because it’s pretty easy to wake up at 5:30am when a baby is shrieking in your ear and playing pattycake with your face. Since she’s pretty determined once she’s set her mind to something, I’m pretty sure I’ll be in tip-top shape within the month.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

